AASFAA thanks the
many sponsors who
support our organization.

What's New?        Member Services        About AASFAA

updated 12.18.18



Picture Box







return to section index
John H. Buchanan, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

This is one of the two highest awards given by the association and is named for former Alabama Congressman Buchanan who served with distinction on the House Education Committee during the 1970s and 1980s. This award is presented to an individual or group who may or may not be a member of the association and who is not generally considered a practicing student financial aid administrator in recognition of outstanding and dedicated service in the area of student financial aid over a sustained period of time. The award is intended to recognize outstanding contributions to higher education and student assistance programs in Alabama.

Recipients of this award are:

 2017-2018 Clark Aldridge
KHEAA - Alabama
 2016-2017 Shannon Cross
 2015-2016 Kevin Ammons
Enterprise State Community College
 2014-2015 James 'Jay' Powell
 2013-2014 Cheryl Newton
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
 2012-2013 Lissa Powell
United Student Aid Funds
 2011-2012 David Bartnicki
U.S. Department Of Education
 2010-2011 Don Rhoads
Southeast Regional Director for Edfinancial Services
 2009-2010 Ann Campbell
Financial Aid Consultant
Ted Franzeim
Senior Vice President for Customer Relations KHEAA
 2008-2009 No Award Given
 2007-2008 Dr. William H. Wall
Director, Alabama Office Kheaa/Alabama and Alabama College Loan Program
 2006-2007 Kay Ivey
Alabama State Treasurer
 2005-2006 Melinda Calhoun
 2004-2005 Lora Kiser
Al Student Loan People
 2003-2004 Thomas G. Dismukes Jr.
Alabama Student Loan Program Site Manager, KHEAA
  2002-2003 Dr. Roy Johnson
Chancellor, AL Department of Postsecondary Education
  2001-2002 Jonna Moses
Loan Officer, Regions Student Loan Center
  2000-2001 Cindy Massey
Vice President, SouthTrust Bank
  1999-2000 (no award given)

  1998-1999 Jan B. Hilyer
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
  1997-1998 Pebblin Warren
State Department of Postsecondary Education
  1996-1997 Paul Borden
Executive Director, KHEAA
  1995-1996 Theresa Duke
Student Loan Officer, First Alabama Bank
  1994-1995 William Jeffery
Vice President, First Alabama Bank
  1993-1994 Francine Reeves
U.S. Department of Education
  1992-1993 Junior League of Montgomery
Scholarship Booklet and College Night Program
  1991-1992 Dr. Mary Louise Symms
  1990-1991 Robert S. McDonnell
U.S. Postal Inspector
  1989-1990 The Honorable George C. Wallace, Jr.
State Treasurer
  1988-1989 Bill Pouncey
U.S. Department of Education
  1987-1988 The Honorable Howell Heflin
U.S. Senator
  1986-1987 The Honorable Glen Browder
U.S. Representative
  1985-1986 (no award given)

  1984-1985 The Honorable Carl Elliott
Former U.S. Represenative
  1983-1984 Dr. Jim Vickery
President, University of Montevallo
  1982-1983 (no award given)

  1981-1982 The Honorable Jim Bennett
State Senator
  1980-1981 The Honorable J. Richmond Pearson
State Senator
  1979-1980 The Honorable John H. Buchanan, Jr.
U.S. Representative

Questions: support@aasfaaonline.org - Copyright © 2007-2019 AASFAA
Copying or distributing contents expressly forbidden.